ARISE Grand Show

Producer

Berndt Schmidt is the general director, managing director and producer of the Grand Shows and Young Shows at the Palast.

After joining Bertelsmann AG in New York, he became deputy managing director of Logic Records in Frankfurt am Main, a successful dance music label owned by the Bertelsmann Music Group, as well as commercial manager of its foreign subsidiaries in New York and London.

Following further management positions in the music and film industry, the cultural manager moved into the special world of theatre – in 2002 as general agent for the musicals ‘Ludwig II – Longing for Paradise’ in Füssen and in 2004 as regional director for the Apollo and Palladium musical theatres in Stuttgart, operated by Stage Entertainment.

He has been theatre director and general director at the Palast in Berlin since 1 November 2007. With 545,000 guests and ticket revenue totalling €27.2 million, he achieved the best results in the theatre’s hundred-year history in 2019.

As producer, Berndt Schmidt was responsible for the sensational cooperation ‘Belief in the Possibility of Complete Renewal of the World’ with director René Pollesch and co-director and actor Fabian Hinrichs.

In October 2020, ‘Stageless’ went on display at the Palast during the pandemic, in collaboration with the renowned exhibition space for photography, C/O Berlin. The exhibition featured photographs by the renowned photographer and Berghain bouncer, Sven Marquardt, of the Palast’s ballet ensemble.

Schmidt was named ‘Berliner of the Year’ in 2019 by readers of the Berliner Morgenpost newspaper for his political and social commitment to diversity as well as against xenophobia, racism and anti-Semitism.

ARISE is Berndt Schmidt’s seventh Grand Show as producer.

Recommended by 98% of reviewers

Recommended by 96% of reviewers

"Certificate of Excellence
Winner 2012–2022"

Germany’s best-rated show theatre*

*Based on the total number of 5-star reviews.

2022-09-30 02:36:20 | 1664505380

ARISE Grand Show

Produzent

Berndt Schmidt ist Intendant, Geschäftsführer und verantwortlicher Produzent der Grand Shows und Young Shows des Palastes.

Nach seinem Einstieg bei der Bertelsmann AG in New York wurde er in Frankfurt am Main stellvertretender Geschäftsführer von Logic Records, einem erfolgreichen Dance-Musiklabel der Bertelsmann Music Group, und kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer von dessen Auslandsbeteiligungen in New York und London.

Nach weiteren Stationen im Musik- und Filmbereich wechselte der Kulturmanager in die besondere Welt des Theaters: 2002 als Generalbevollmächtigter des Musicals ‚Ludwig II – Sehnsucht nach dem Paradies‘ in Füssen und 2004 als Regional-Geschäftsführer für die beiden Musicalhäuser Apollo- und Palladium-Theater in Stuttgart, die von der Stage Entertainment betrieben werden.

Seit dem 1. November 2007 ist er Intendant und Geschäftsführer des Palastes in Berlin. Mit 545.000 Gästen und Kartenerlösen von 27,2 Millionen Euro erreichte er im Jahr 2019 die besten Ergebnisse der hundertjährigen Bühnengeschichte des Hauses.

Für die aufsehenerregende Kooperation ‚Glauben an die Möglichkeit der völligen Erneuerung der Welt‘ mit Regisseur René Pollesch sowie Co-Regisseur und Schauspieler Fabian Hinrichs zeichnete Berndt Schmidt als Produzent verantwortlich.

Gemeinsam mit dem renommierten Ausstellungshaus für Fotografie C/O Berlin entstand während der Pandemie die Fotoausstellung ‚Stageless‘, in der im Oktober 2020 Aufnahmen der Ballettkompanie vom bekannten Fotografen und Berghain-Türsteher Sven Marquardt zu sehen waren.

Für sein politisch-gesellschaftliches Engagement für Vielfalt sowie gegen Fremdenfeindlichkeit, Rassismus und Antisemitismus wurde er von der Berliner Morgenpost 2019 als ‚Berliner des Jahres‘ ausgezeichnet.

Als Produzent verantwortet Berndt Schmidt mit ARISE seine siebte Grand Show.

98% Weiterempfehlung

96% Weiterempfehlung

Zertifikat für Exzellenz
Gewinner 2012-2020

Deutschlands bestbewertetes
Show-Theater*

*Gemessen an der Gesamtzahl der
5-Sterne-Bewertungen