Exhibition trailer (1:40 min.):

Daily until 29 November, 11 a.m.–8 p.m. | Palast foyer | Free admission

 

Free time slot tickets

The current coronavirus regulations mean only a limited number of people can be admitted to the exhibition at one time. Book free time slot tickets for your visit here. These tickets guarantee admission during your preferred time window. Fifty people can be admitted without a time slot ticket per time slot – simply go to the main entrance. You will need to provide your contact details before you enter the foyer. Your details are collected to assist the health authorities with contact tracing in the event of an infection. A face mask must be worn in the foyer at all times, except when you are sitting in the catering area.

 

Please call +49 (0)30-2326 2326 in advance if you are a wheelchair user or unable to climb stairs. Our service team will then admit you to the building via the wheelchair entrance around the corner on Johannisstraße.

 

Definition of a “time slot”: You may enter the exhibition at any time during your booked time slot – even shortly before your time slot ends – and also remain in the exhibition after your time slot ends. Each ticket admits one person and is person-specific (due to the contact tracing requirements). Please provide the real names of all visitors when booking.

Dates

Good availability Limited availability Sold out
October

 

Date Time slot
Mon 19.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Tue 20.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Wed 21.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Thu 22.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Fri 23.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Sat 24.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Sun 25.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mon 26.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Tue 27.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Wed 28.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Thu 29.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Fri 30.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Sat 31.10. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20

 

In October 2019, Sven Marquardt photographed members of the Palast’s international dance ensemble just after a performance as well as after rehearsals. In some of the pictures, the posture and expression show that the subject is still on an adrenaline high, whereas others reveal more intimate moments. Less than half a year after the photo shoot, the artists portrayed were deprived of their stage and essentially became ‘stageless’ when all performances between 11 March 2020 and 1 January 2021 were cancelled due the coronavirus pandemic.

 

The Palast stands for glamour and elegance – at least it normally does. This exhibition is literally a huge intervention in our foyer, our lives, our future as a show theatre. Hence you’ll find bare, paint-splattered scaffolding, traces of the ongoing building work, and powerful photographs printed on construction fence tarpaulins illuminated with construction lights. These raw, improvised aesthetics do not merely give the impression of a construction site – we really are one: the theatre’s ventilation system is currently being refurbished (due to be completed by December). The tapestry of sounds audible in the exhibition may lead some to think that the sounds of construction work are part of the installation. When you stand on the huge stairs in the foyer featuring metre-high video projections, you will almost feel as if you are in an abandoned grand hotel. In all its intensity, there is something comforting about this massive artistic intervention by curator Felix Hoffmann (C/O Berlin) and Sven Marquardt: it is all temporary, we’ll be back.

 

 

For those eager for a sneak preview: this ZDF television report provides some interesting insights.

Photos

Reviews

The hallmarks of the Berghain magnifico are discernible at first glance: most of the close-ups and portraits are in black and white; in some, the lighting means they deliberately remain blurry. The dancers are freed from their stage sparkle and appear like dark figures of the night.

The Palast foyer has been transformed into a temporary gallery; the ensemble performs without its stage. 68 large-scale photos are showcased in a quietness that has its own magic and emotional impact.

The portraits are evocative because you know that exactly what the artists love – performing, being on stage, the adrenaline – have not been possible for months.

As expected with Marquardt, the outcome is not a series of classic portraits, but rather intense mises en scènes.

His transformations reveal many an ode to beauty and, what beautiful bewilderment, at the same time the pain of loneliness following such exhilaration. Emptiness, fears, melancholy.

The fact that almost 70 pictures are now being displayed in the foyer under the telling title of ‘STAGELESS’, i.e. without a stage, could hardly be more fitting at this time.

This person seeker who resembles a prince of darkness yet has the soul of a peace dove brings momentary joy to the currently unemployed ensemble.

hugely intense photographs, impressive portrait studies

One never has the whole huge foyer in sight nor the feeling that the pictures become lost.

Sven Marquardt shows an unprettified take on the transition from the dramatic, mask-like stage character to the dancers’ tense, tired faces after the show.

Sven Marquardt (b. 1962) has made a name for himself internationally as the photographic chronicler of identities and curator of clubgoers on Berlin’s techno scene. His work is reminiscent of the fashion photographs by Sibylle Bergemann and Ute Mahler for the East German magazine Sibylle and the renowned work by Peter Lindbergh. And yet it still develops its own unique visual language. The photo series was created in collaboration with Klaus Stockhausen, who is Fashion Director at ZEITmagazin, and curated by Felix Hoffmann from C/O Berlin. The exhibition comprises around 70 black and white portraits, which are displayed on large-scale screens and in projections. A publication will also be released to accompany the exhibition.

 

Portrait: Vitali Gelwich

Return to top

By using the live chat function, you agree to the privacy policies of the Friedrichstadt-Palast and SnapEngage.

Live Chat

Das stark limitierte Fotobuch zur Ausstellung STAGELESS . SVEN MARQUARDT beinhaltet 90 Fotos unserer Tänzer*innen auf insgesamt 120 Seiten. Für 20 € inkl. Versand erhalten Sie eines der wenigen Exemplare in unserem Webshop

Video zur Ausstellung (1:40 Min.):

Wegen Lockdown derzeit geschlossen

 

Kostenlose Wunschzeit-Tickets

Aufgrund der derzeitigen Bestimmungen kann nur eine begrenzte Zahl von Gästen gleichzeitig in der Ausstellung sein. Buchen Sie sich hier kostenlos Ihre Wunschzeit-Tickets. Damit erhalten Sie garantiert Einlass innerhalb Ihres Zeitfensters. Für spontane Gäste stehen 50 Einlässe pro Zeitfenster zur Verfügung. Gehen Sie einfach zum Haupteingang. Sie müssen Ihre Kontaktdaten vor dem Eintritt ins Foyer hinterlegen. Die Erfassung der Daten dient dazu, dass im Fall eventueller Infektionen Gesundheitsämter in die Lage versetzt werden, Infektionsketten nachvollziehen zu können. Im Foyer sind Sie dazu verpflichtet, einen Mund-Nasen-Schutz zu tragen, außer beim Sitzen im Gastrobereich.

 

Gäste, die im Rollstuhl sitzen oder keine Treppen steigen können, melden sich bitte telefonisch unter 030-2326 2326. Unser Servicepersonal ermöglicht Ihnen dann den Eintritt über den Rollstuhlzugang um die Ecke an der Johannisstraße.

 

Definition Zeitfenster: Sie können zu jedem Zeitpunkt innerhalb der gebuchten Zeitspanne die Ausstellung betreten, auch kurz vor Ende des Zeitfensters und sich auch nach dem Ende des Zeitfensters noch in der Ausstellung aufhalten. Das Ticket berechtigt zum einmaligen Einlass und ist personengebunden (wegen Trackingvorgaben). Bei der Buchung geben Sie bitte die korrekten Namen aller Gäste an.

Termine

Tickets verfügbar Wenige Tickets verfügbar Bereits ausverkauft Entfällt
November

 

Datum Zeitfenster
Mo 2.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Di 3.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mi 4.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Do 5.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Fr 6.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Sa 7.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
So 8.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mo 9.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Di 10.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mi 11.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Do 12.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Fr 13.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Sa 14.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
So 15.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mo 16.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Di 17.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mi 18.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Do 19.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Fr 20.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Sa 21.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
So 22.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mo 23.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Di 24.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Mi 25.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Do 26.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Fr 27.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
Sa 28.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20
So 29.11. 11-13 13-15 15-17 17-19 19-20

 

Im Oktober 2019 hat Sven Marquardt die Mitglieder des internationalen Ensembles des Palasts unmittelbar nach einem Auftritt und nach Proben porträtiert. Während in einigen der Gesichter und Posen noch der Adrenalinschub sichtbar ist, gelingen Sven Marquardt in anderen Bildern intime Momentaufnahmen seiner Modelle. Kein halbes Jahr nach dem Shooting sind die porträtierten Künstler*innen ihrer Bühne beraubt, sie sind ’stageless‘, aufgrund der Pandemie wurden alle Vorstellungen vom 11. März bis 1. Januar abgesagt.

 

Der Palast steht für Glamour und Eleganz, normalerweise. Man sieht förmlich, dass diese Ausstellung ein gewaltiger Eingriff in unser Foyer, unser Leben, unsere Bestimmung als Showtheater ist. Also stehen da unverkleidete Baugerüste mit Farbklecksen und Arbeitsspuren, eindringliche Fotos gedruckt auf Bauzaunplanen, beleuchtet mit Arbeitslichtern. Raue Improvisationsästhetik, die nicht nur den Eindruck einer Baustelle erweckt, wir sind auch eine. Bis Dezember wird die Lüftungsanlage des Hauses modernisiert. In dem Soundteppich, der über der Ausstellung liegt, werden manche denken, die Baugeräusche seien Teil der Installation. Wenn man dann im riesigen Treppenhaus des Foyers mit den meterhohen Videoprojektionen steht, entsteht fast der Eindruck eines verlassenen Grand Hotels. In all ihrer Intensität hat diese massive künstlerische Intervention von Kurator Felix Hoffmann (C/O Berlin) und Sven Marquardt etwas Tröstliches: Das ist temporär, wir kommen wieder.

 

Wer vorab schon mal reinschauen möchte: der Beitrag im ZDF Mittagsmagazin gibt einen schönen Einblick in die Ausstellung.

Galerie

Pressestimmen

Bereits auf den ersten Blick erkennt man die Handschrift des Berghain-Granden: Die meisten der Close-ups und Porträts sind schwarz-weiß, manche wegen der Lichtverhältnisse betont unscharf gehalten. Die Tänzer und Tänzerinnen sind von ihrem Bühnenglitzer befreit, wirken wie dunkle Nachtgestalten.

Aus dem Palast-Foyer wurde eine temporäre Galerie, das Ensemble tritt ohne Bühne auf. 68 Großfotos werden zur Inszenierung der Stille, die ihre ganz eigene Magie und emotionale Wucht hat.

Die Porträts bewegen, weil man genau weiß, dass was die Künstler lieben, der Auftritt, die Bühne, das Adrenalin, sind seit Monaten nicht mehr möglich.

Entstanden sind, wie bei Marquardt nicht anders zu erwarten, keine klassischen Porträts, sondern intensive Inszenierungen.

Aus seinen Transformationen liest man manche Ode an die Schönheit und, welch schöne Verstörung, zugleich auch den Schmerz der Einsamkeit nach dem Hochgefühl. Leere, Ängste, Melancholie.

Das nun fast 70 Bilder unter dem vielsagenden Titel ‚STAGELESS‘, also bühnenlos, im Foyer zu sehen sind, könnte kaum besser in diese Zeit passen.

Dieser Menschensucher in der Erscheinung eines Höllenfürsten mit der Seele einer Friedenstaube macht dieses arbeitslos gewordene Ensemble glücklich für den Augenblick.

hochintensive Bilder, beeindruckende Portraitstudien

Nie hat man dieses ganze riesige Foyer im Blick, nie das Gefühl, das die Bilder untergehen.

Ungeschönt zeigt Sven Marquardt den Übergang von den dramatisch-maskenhaften Bühnenrollen zu den angestrengten und müden Gesichtern der Tänzer*innen nach der Show.

Sven Marquardt (*1962) ist international als fotografischer Chronist von Identitäten und Tanzpublikum-Kurator der Berliner Techno Szene bekannt geworden. Die Arbeiten erinnern an die Modefotografien von Sibylle Bergemann und Ute Mahler für die ostdeutsche Zeitschrift Sibylle bis hin zu den berühmten Aufnahmen von Peter Lindbergh und entwickeln doch ihre ganz eigene Bildsprache. Die Serie entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit Klaus Stockhausen, Fashion Director beim ZEITmagazin, und wurde von Felix Hoffmann von C/O Berlin kuratiert. Die Ausstellung umfasst ca. 70 S/W-Porträts auf großformatigen Leinwänden und Projektionen. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation.

 

Porträt: Vitali Gelwich

Zum Seitenanfang

Montag bis Freitag 9–18 Uhr

Mit Nutzung der Chat-Funktion stimmen Sie den Datenschutz­bestimmungen vom Friedrichstadt-Palast und von Snapengage zu.

Live Chat