ARISE Grand Show

Choreography

Born in England, Douglas Lee began his ballet training at the Arts Educational Schools in London. He was subsequently awarded a scholarship for the prestigious Royal Ballet School, where he graduated in 1996 and was conferred the Alicia Markova Award.

As a former principal dancer with the Stuttgart Ballet, his ballets have been performed by the Norwegian National Ballet, the New York City Ballet and the Nederlands Dans Theater as well as by several other European dance companies. Lee has danced for renowned choreographers such as John Cranko, Jiří Kylián, Hans Van Manen and William Forsythe.

With ‘Aubade’ and ‘Lachrymal’, Douglas Lee presented the first of his own works for the Stuttgart Opera House. His creation ‘Fanfare LX’ for the Stuttgart Ballet has since been added to the repertoire of the Staatsballett Berlin. He subsequently created miniatures and arias for the Stuttgart Ballet and other theatres around the world. Douglas Lee received the Golden Mask Award in the category of best choreographer for his creation ‘Snow Was Falling’ that he created for the Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre.

Recommended by 98% of reviewers

Recommended by 96% of reviewers

"Certificate of Excellence
Winner 2012–2022"

Germany’s best-rated show theatre*

*Based on the total number of 5-star reviews.

2022-09-30 03:52:43 | 1664509963

ARISE Grand Show

Choreografie

Der in England geborene Douglas Lee begann seine Ballettausbildung an den Arts Educational Schools in London und erhielt im Anschluss ein Stipendium für die renommierte Royal Ballet School, wo er 1996 seinen Abschluss machte und den Alicia Markova Award gewann.

Als ehemaliger Solotänzer und Principal Dancer des Stuttgarter Balletts wurden seine Ballette vom norwegischen Nationalballett, dem New Yorker Ballett, dem niederländischen Tanztheater und mehreren anderen europäischen Kompanien uraufgeführt. Lee tanzte in der Zeit für namhafte Choreografen wie John Cranko, Jiří Kylián, Hans Van Manen oder William Forsythe.

Mit ‚Aubade‘ und ‚Lachrymal‘ präsentierte Douglas Lee seine ersten eigenen Werke für das Stuttgarter Opernhaus. Seine Kreation ‚Fanfare LX‘ für das Stuttgarter Ballett wurde in das Repertoire des Staatsballetts Berlin aufgenommen. Anschließend schuf er Miniaturen und Arien für das Stuttgarter Ballett und weitere Häuser auf der ganzen Welt. Für seine Kreation ‚Snow Was Falling‘ für das Perm Opera and Ballet Theatre erhielt er den Golden Mask Award als bester Choreograf.

98% Weiterempfehlung

96% Weiterempfehlung

Zertifikat für Exzellenz
Gewinner 2012-2020

Deutschlands bestbewertetes
Show-Theater*

*Gemessen an der Gesamtzahl der
5-Sterne-Bewertungen

2021-10-20 23:30:13 | 1634772613