

PRESS RELEASE

Nominees decided: Dr. Auma Obama and Friedrichstadt-Palast honour proactive young people at the 2015 Act Now Youth Awards in Berlin

Berlin, 15 October 2015



The jury: Tafara Plauschinat, Dr. Auma Obama, Dr. Berndt Schmidt, Wolfgang Bosbach, Janina Otto and Sibylle Bassler with nominations and jury coordinator Bernward Geier. Photo: Sascha Radke

On 2 November, the first ever Act Now Youth Awards ceremony with 1,900 invited guests from media, sport, culture, politics, business and social organisations will be held in Berlin to honour dedicated young people.

Together with prominent public figures, the Sauti Kuu Foundation and the Palast will present awards in five categories to young people whose actions and commitment are helping to make our world a better place. Organisations, initiatives, associations and school classes from across Germany responded to the call to nominate young people aged 12-25 for their voluntary work.

Submissions have been considered by a jury comprising aid worker Janina Otto, television journalist Sibylle Bassler, German MP Wolfgang Bosbach, Dr. Auma Obama (director and initiator of the Sauti Kuu Foundation), as well as Dr. Berndt Schmidt (theatre director) and Tafara Plauschinat (member of the Young Ensemble) from the Friedrichstadt-Palast. In each category, three nominees plus accompanying guests are invited to the award ceremony in Berlin.

The Innovation award recognises activities or a project undertaken by creatively inventive young people. Among the nominees are youth support workers Sebastian Lavoie, Daniel Bausch, Julian Kiesele and Manuel Renz from *Jugend-Musik-Werk Baden*, a youth music association. Alongside their job or study commitments, they invest most of their free time in active youth work, running projects on their own initiative for and together with young people. The mentoring project *Balu und Du* helps disadvantaged

PRESS CONTACT

André Puchta Director of Communications

T +49 30 2326 2-201 M +49 175 4319 092

puchta@palast.berlin www.palast.berlin



Friedrichstadt-Palast Berlin Europe's Show Palace

Friedrichstrasse 107 10117 Berlin-Mitte In the East End Theatre District

Theatre Director/General Director: Dr. Berndt Schmidt

Chairman of the Supervisory Board: Tim Renner, Permanent Secretary for Cultural Affairs



Owned by the City of Berlin



## PRESS RELEASE

children develop skills for successfully mastering challenges in everyday life. U 25 - Jugendliche helfen Jugendlichen is a project in which young people provide support to people of their own age who are at risk of suicide. They offer counselling via a web platform.

The Inspiration award is presented to young people who serve as outstanding role models. Nominees include *Devrim Emre* (18) of the Berlin-based group *Heroes*, which brings people from different cultures together to eliminate violence. Devrim has been particularly instrumental in the prevention project 'Against Oppression in the Name of Honour'. *Delia Jakubek* (22) worked for one and a half years as a volunteer for the Workers' Samaritan Federation (ASB) in Georgia, where she helped set up a ward for long-term hospitalised children. *Keine Grenzen für Hilfe – Jugend zeigt Courage* ('No Borders for Aid – Youth Show Courage') is an initiative by young people with a migrant background aged between 16 and 21. Their projects include organising the transportation of relief consignments for Iraqi children.

The Sustainability award recognises dedication in the field of environmental, economic or social sustainability. Namaste GmbH is a youth enterprise that is providing assistance to the small Nepalese mountain village of Gati, where it carries out its activities in partnership with the village population. Following the recent earthquake, Namaste has so far collected € 264,000 for the reconstruction of the village. Alongside her studies, Nora Griefahn (23) devoted her time to developing the 'Cradle to Cradle' (C2C) principle. In 2012, together with Tim Janssen, she set up the C2C association and organised an international conference with high-profile speakers that has achieved concrete results. Berliner Tierschutzjugend is an animal welfare youth organisation for dedicated young people aged 9 to 18. They actively help at Europe's largest animal shelter, and give the animals a voice at demonstrations as well as via information stands.

As potential recipients of the Special award, the jury selected *Die Unermüdlichen* ('The Indefatigables'), who successfully combat prejudices with much creativity and no holds barred. The youth coaches' methods include fair play in combat sports, and are especially aimed at helping immigrant and refugee children develop into strong individuals. *Himn Brimo* (22) from Syria survived a bomb attack on his university in Aleppo. He escaped to Germany, where he is studying architecture. Despite the trauma of war, he has so far contributed more than 900 hours as a volunteer at the *Jugendwerk* youth organisation, and motivates others to get involved as well. *Celine Fischer* (16) works as a trainee social assistant at the Jüterbog refugee aid association. She staged a summer festival with her group *Jugend hat Bock*, conducts negotiations with the city administration, and was elected to both the Jüterbog youth parliament and the youth advisory council of *Aktion Mensch*.

The Hero award is presented to a dedicated young person who not only serves as a role model but who has also achieved something truly extraordinary. For this category, the jury was able to propose nominees or choose from the pool of submissions.

www.actnow-award.de www.facebook.com/actnowaward www.palast.berlin PRESS CONTACT

André Puchta Director of Communications

T +49 30 2326 2-201 M +49 175 4319 092

puchta@palast.berlin www.palast.berlin



Friedrichstadt-Palast Berlin Europe's Show Palace

Friedrichstrasse 107 10117 Berlin-Mitte In the East End Theatre District

Theatre Director/General Director: Dr. Berndt Schmidt

Chairman of the Supervisory Board: Tim Renner, Permanent Secretary for Cultural Affairs



Owned by the City of Berlin